AGM New Board Configuration | Nautical Institute Cyprus

AGM New Board Configuration

After 10 years of dedicated service, Capt. Graham Cowling handed over his role as Chair of the Nautical Institute, Cyprus Branch at its Annual General Meeting held on 14 July 2020.

Acknowledging Capt. Cowling’s commitment over the last decade to the Branch, Yvonne Tsanos, the newly elected Chair, presented Capt. Cowling with an honorary award for his long-standing contribution and dedication to the association.

Capt. Cowling assumed the role of Acting Treasurer, replacing Capt. Martin Bankov who will remain as a member of the Branch’s committee.

Following the AGM the new structure of Nautical Institute, Cyprus Branch for the ensuing 3-yr term is as follows:-

Yvonne Tsanos (AFNI)
Vice Chair
Capt. V. S. Parani
Hon. Secretary
Natalie Georgiou
Acting Treasurer
Capt. Graham Cowling
Committee MembersCapt. Martin Bankov
Mr. Zbig Wenda
Capt. Michael Quain
Capt. Andreas Michael
Capt. Kyriakos Orros
Mazen Bahoun
Neil Geoffrey Hawkes

Yvonne Tsanos, together with the other volunteer Committee members assured to continue to promote the Branch’s variety of activities and increase its membership as well as warrant continuation as much as possible despite the COVID pandemic, the Branch’s activities and cooperation via:-

  • A programme of technical and social meetings
  • Representation on Nautical Institute User groups and Council.
  • Assistance with professional development
  • Involvement with projects both locally and internationally
  • Solving professional problems through seminars and workshops
  • Networking opportunities with other nautical professionals.
  • Co-operation with other professional bodies on the island such as ICS (Cyprus), CSC, IMarEST and CYMMA.